From tourism to monetarism: Diokno targeting UP economist Berna Puyat as BSP's new Deputy Governor
Business Headlines

From tourism to monetarism: Diokno targeting UP economist Berna Puyat as BSP’s new Deputy Governor

Very few people know that Tourism Secretary Berna Romulo-Puyat is a product of the University of the Philippines School of Economics, and a cum laude at that.

So don’t be surprised if she gets tapped to fill the fifth Deputy Governor post opened recently by the Bangko Sentral ng Pilipinas.

A Babbler said BSP Governor Benjamin Diokno has reportedly pushed Romulo-Puyat to take the DG as her next gig after she leaves the DOT with the end of the Duterte administration.

Babbler said Diokno knows firsthand Romulo-Puyat’s economist having served as one of her professor-mentors during her thesis in both her BS and MA in Economics.

The BSP traditionally had only three DG but the number was increased to five following the amendment of the BSP charter in 2019.

Diokno, who took his post in March 2019, named Eduardo G. Bobier as the fourth DG who would oversee corporate services.

The other three DGs are Francisco Dakila Jr. (who is also a UP economist) for the monetary and economic sector, Chuchi Fonacier for financial supervision, and Namerto E. Tangonan for payment and currency management.

Based on the BSP’s announcement, the next DG should have the following qualification standards:

* Master’s degree or Certificate in Leadership and Management from the Civil Service Commission

* 120 hours of supervisory and management training and learning and development intervention

*Career service professional with second level eligibility

* 15 years of relevant experience, five years of which involve supervisory or management experience

Before going into government service, Romulo-Puyat was a lecturer at the UP School of Economics from 1994 to 2006. She also moonlighted as economic consultant of the Housing and Urban Development coordinating Council during this period.

Romulo-Puyat was appointed Agriculture Undersecretary in 2007 where she stayed unitl four years ago when President Rodrigo Duterte chose her to replace Wanda Teo in the DOT.


Leave a Comment

9 − 3 =

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.